Fitness Friday

I guess I haven’t posted in a week.  Oops.

I woke up and went to the gym this morning before work. I figured it was a good idea after all the Thanksgiving eating I did yesterday.

I didn’t take one picture of Thanksgiving this year.  I’m not sure why.  It was a lazy day at home with just my little family.  I missed my family a lot and felt sad that I wasn’t with them at my sister’s house.  Growing up we always had loud holidays with lots of laughing and some chaos, even if it was just our family.  I feel comfortable and at home when there’s lots of conversations going on, a lot of laughing, kids playing, etc.  My family is pretty quiet.  We are probably pretty boring, which I’m ok with all other days of the year, but on holidays…I wish there was more noise.  I didn’t even start cooking yesterday until 2:15 and was at the store at 1:45 getting the rest of the ingredients I needed for mashed potatoes and homemade rolls.  I bought a turkey breast since I usually throw away a lot of the bird anyway, and we also bought frozen pies, which I’ve never done before.  It was a nice change.

Anyway, back to my workouts.  David got me an amazon gift certificate for my birthday and I bought some fun stuff.  My two favorites are my new fancy bright blue New Balance running shoes. I love them.  The other is a Polar heart rate monitor watch.  It has a chest strap that I wear under my shirt and it gives me a super accurate reading on my heart rate and calories burned during my workout. I’ve wanted one of these for a long time.

20131129-084036.jpg 20131129-083943.jpg

Aleeya even wanted to get up with me and go to the gym this morning!  We met Crystal and Savannah there so while Crystal and I did the cardio machines, the cute little girls did their own workout.

20131129-083905.jpg 20131129-084123.jpg

So here’s my breakdown of the last week:

Saturday – Treadmill 45 minutes, burned 350 calories

Sunday – Treadmill 58 minutes, burned 554 calories

Monday – something but I can’t remember??  Oops…should have written it down.

Wednesday – am workout before work, one hour cardio machines (treadmill, stair machine, bicycle and ski machine), burned 430 calories

Friday – am workout before work, one hour cardio machines (treadmill, stair machine, bicycle, and ski machine), burned 430 calories.

Oh, and by the way, I can run (well, slowly jog) for about five minutes at a time at a rate of 13:30 minute mile….and I’m going to run a half marathon with my sister next October!  I have a LONG WAYS to go to get ready but I feel better and stronger with each workout and I WILL GET THERE!

Leave a Reply

